Antequera Town Village Malaga


Antequera is a UNESCO World Heritage Site thanks to its tradition, dolmens, the Torcal and the Peña de los Enamorados.

Where is Antequera located

Antequera is located 52km from Malaga capital with a population of 41.239 inhabitants. The municipal term has a dimension of almost 750km square.

Origin of the name Antequera

In Roman times it was called Anticaria, which later in Arabic was derived in Antaquira.

Demonym of the people of Antequera

The inhabitants are called “antequerano or antequerana”.

Curiosities about Antequera

  • It is the largest municipality in the province of Malaga.

 Monuments and places of interest in Antequera

  • Fortress of Antequera: The fortress of “Papabellotas” is a fortified site that can be visited, built on Roman remains around the 11th-12th century by the Muslims. In 1361 this fortress prevented Pedro I from reconquering this area. The fortress is a construction of two towers joined by a wall with two other smaller towers. The largest and most important tower is the Torre del Homenaje also known as El Reloj de Papabellotas. This tower is one of the largest towers among the andalusian Muslim towers. In 1582 a stone and brick bell tower was built on top of the Torre del Homenaje. The other tower is called the White Tower, which shows with what perfection and great technique the muslims were already building.
  • Dolmens site Antequera: They are three megalithic monuments built approximately 6500 years ago. The Menga, Viera and Romeral dolmens constitute one of the most important dolmen sites in Europe and the World.
  • The Royal Collegiate Church of the Saint Mary: It is the first columnar church in Andalusia and one of the first in Spain. The construction of the temple was carried out between 1514 and 1550. It is considered the first columnar church and temple in the Renaissance style in Andalusia.The Royal Collegiate Church of the Saint Mary Antequera
  • Royal Collegiate Church of San Sebastián: The temple was built between the years 1540 and 1549. Its brick tower that measures more than 60 meters that is emblematic for the city was built between 1701 and 1706. On top of the tower is the “Angelote” that measures 3 and a half meters . 
  • Convent of Madre de Dios de Monteagudo: In 1520 the Augustinian religious community was established in the village. This convent was dedicated to the invocation of Our Lady of Monteagudo when it received as a donation an image of this Virgin originally from Scherpenheuvel located in Belgium. The main building was largely destroyed by a fire in 1745, between 1747 and 1761 a restoration and reconstruction of the building as we know today was carried out.
  • Convent of the Encarnación: It is one of the oldest convents in the city, it belongs to the Calzada Carmelite order. Above the regular door, which is the one through which you enter the enclosure nuns, you will find the marble sculpture of Elías, who is considered the spiritual leader of the Order of the Carmelites.
  • Convent of Magdalena: It is the old convent of San Pedro de Alcántara that has been built in parts since the 16th century. After years of neglect, in 2009 it was restored and turned into a five-star hotel.
  • Convent of TrinidadConvent of Trinidad Antequera
  • Convent of San Agustín
  • Royal Monastery of San Zoilo
  • Church of  San Pedro
  • Church of Santa María de Jesús:  Located in Plaza Portichuelo next to the Chapel of La Virgen del Socorro. Its construction began in 1527, finishing the temple in the 17th century. It was owned by the Convent of the Third Order of Franciscans, suffering great damage during the French invasion. The temple contains several important sculptures such as Jesus the Nazarene and the Cross of Jerusalem.
  • Church of San Juan Bautista
  • Church of Carmen
  • Church of Santiago
  • Church of Nuestra Señora de Loreta
  • Church of San Juan de DiosChurch San Juan de Dios Antequera
  • Church of San Miguel: The temple was erected and built in the first half of the 19th century. Its most important structural reform was carried out in 1954, preserving the chapel, the belfry and the dressing room from the original temple, but increasing the height of the central nave. Inside there is a niche that houses the image of San Miguel, accompanied by San Juan Bautista and Nuestra Señora de Fátima.
  • Church of Nuestra Señora de los RemediosIglesia de Nuestra Señora de los Remedios Antequera
  • Chapel of Virgen del Socorro: Located in the Plaza del Portichuelo square, also called <Capilla del Portichuelo> built in 1715. Its facade is architecturally very original made of stone and brick veneer .
  • Chapel Tribune of the White Cross
  • Gate of Estepa: Next to the bullring you will find this civil structure that was destroyed in 1931 but rebuilt in 1998. For its construction they used red limestone bricks and stones that come from the El Torcal natural site in Antequera. The upper arch houses the image of the Virgen Del Rosario.Puerta de Estepa Antequera
  • Bullring: Plaza de Toros: Built in 1848 and has the nickname “La maestranza chica” (Referring to the Maestranza of Seville).Plaza de Toros Antequera
  • Arco de los Gigantes: Built in 1585 with a wall 2 meters thick and 7 meters high.Arco de los Gigantes Antequera
  • Lobo Park: A park dedicated to this amazing mystical animal where it allows you to observe and better understand the social behavior of these animals in its natural habitat. Guided tours by experts will make you discover more about Canis lupus.
  • Peña de los enamorados: It is a limestone giant rock that has the characteristics of a face of a person lying down, it is also popularly known as “the Indian”.
  • Plaza del Coso Viejo: The square is located in the historic center. Popularly known as Vegetable Square, since the food market used to be held in this place. The statue represents the Infante Don Fernando mounted on a horse, he was the one who reconquered these lands in 1410 to incorporate them into the Crown of Castile.
  • Fountain of the Four Elements: Located in the Plaza del Coso Viejo, the four pipes represent the four elements: Earth, Fire, Water, Air.Fountain of the Four Elements Antequera
  • Chapel Tribuna de la Cruz BlancaChapel Tribuna de la Cruz Blanca Antequera

For more information about Antequera ciudad: visit the City Council page

Museums in Antequera

  • Museo de Arte de la Diputación (MAD)

Museum MAD Antequera